Skip to main content

FOUND IT !!!

"Is that an engagement ring?" Now ya`ll know I haven't been on a date since `93 don`t mock me. I wasn't gonna write this post because I didn't think ya`ll would care but I had to tell somebody! 

When daddy was around, we didn't have to beg for anything. He really spoiled us. By us, I mean me. He really spoiled me. One year, he took my mom shopping for a brand new wedding ring for Christmas. It was absolutely gorgeous! I would stare at her finger and joke with my dad saying, I want one too! Can you buy me one? Well, to my surprise, that Christmas, I opened up a tiny little gift box to a perfect little ring for a teenage girl. Couldn't tell me nothing!

Since that day and losing my dad some years ago, I have always made sure to wear it wherever I go. Not only because I feel like he`s with me, but because he might come back down and whoop my tail if I lose it! Ya`ll don`t want no whopping from Mr. Douglas. 

My first day of work in LA, I went into my jewelry box and couldn't find it. I looked in purses, suit cases, boxes, no where to be found! I freaked out! I heard my dad`s voice "Britney! What you mean you can`t find it? If I come in that room and find that ring, it`s gone be me and you!" What does that even mean? Why do all black parents say that? And why does it scare the hell out of us when they do? Ya`ll, my daddy did not play!

Two whole months and the ring never showed up! Anytime I had that ring on, I felt a sense of comfort. Maybe that`s why those bugs felt like they could just show up in my apartment all willy nilly. If they feared my daddy`s ass whooping like I did, I wouldn't have no problems. 

After moving back home, the thought still lingered in my mind, "Where is that ring???" One day, I was in my room getting dressed, and knelt down under the bed to grab my shoes, but what I saw next made me want to scream! It was my daddy under the bed, "Didn't I tell you if I found that ring, it was gone be me and you???"

Just kidding, it was the ring. Laying right next to the shoes I was looking for!

Now I`m scared to sleep in my bed tonight.

-BRIT

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Good Girl

"Wait, am I going to get in trouble if I do that?" I`ve always been that "by the book" type of person. If I didn`t get permission to do it, it`s not happening. Yep, you guessed it, my friends hated me in high school.  I was the one with the curfew at midnight. No, I couldn`t sneak inside of the house because my mother and father were always sitting on the couch in the front room waiting for me to get in. And if I wasn`t home by midnight, I had a five minute grace period before they were blowing up my little flip phone. "Where are you? Do you know what time it is?" "Yes mom, I`m down the street." We were really just getting off of the highway but it was no red lights and my friend had a heavy foot.  *Shout Out to Laster and Sophia Douglas.* I was always the "good girl" and that was NOT a compliment. Being the good girl meant that you were stuck up, weird, boring, funny acting, etc. I`m actually all of those things when I`m hun...

BLACK AND CAREFREE

"While ya'll being distracted by this, look what's happening over here..." Ya'll know exactly who those types of people are on your friends list, don't you? You can't share a few funny memes, indulge in a hot topic discussion or post pictures of your lit brunch without somebody saying "Some of ya'll black folks be worried about the wrong thing!" And yes, some black folks ARE worried about the wrong thing BUT some black folks can worry about more than one thing at once. I mean damn, don't ya'll want a break sometimes? Photo: My Mama. Today's topic is on being BLACK AND CAREFREE . I wanted to make some heart warming post about black folks being able to be happy even in the face of adversity. Being able have joy and be aware at the same time. I had all intentions of posting photos of myself and my friends full of smiles. Making jokes about being black, educated and well spoken but being able to turn that off to be b...

DRANKS AND PAINTS AND VIBES

"I wanna go out, but I don't want to be around a whole lot of people, but I wanna mingle and see new faces and I wanna hear good music but I don't wanna dance." If you're anything like me, an extroverted introvert, you appreciate a good night out minus all of the extra stuff like heels and crowds you can't move in. I wanted to bring in this past birthday as cool and chill as possible. You know, flats, cupcakes, a drink and a nap. Well, I started my weekend just the way I wanted to with the Specialty Cocktails + Urban Art Workshop! Yes, we was in there drinking and spray painting. What more can I ask for? Now, my first run in with spray paint was not a good one. Let me give ya'll a very quick story: Aight so boom... the year was 2009. I was out with some friends from school roaming the streets of Chicago at night. Keep in mind, I went to an art school so all of my friends were some sort of artists. The guys we were hanging with were sic...