Skip to main content

SOMETIMES, I CAN'T DEAL

"You okay? you wanna talk about it?" Actually, no. I'm not okay. Sure, we can talk about it, if you got some liquor. You better be treating too, since you wanna be nosy. Don't be cheap now. I'm probably sad cause I ain't got no money. You know the check be gone before the direct deposit even hit your bank account. I could probably use a hug too.

I'm no doctor, but I'd say it's pretty unhealthy for one to keep their anger and emotions balled up inside of you. If nothing else, you have to at least admit to yourself that you're pissed, sad or scared, that's the first step. Now, when I encourage you to let your emotions out every once in a while, I don't mean getting on Facebook everyday and cussing out all your "haters" or cousins or posting all those god awful depressing memes that make me wonder how that dude I met at the club 6 years ago is doing. I'm saying, you should probably find that one person you can vent to, write down how you feel in a journal or talk it out with yourself through meditation. Or you can go to the bakery and get a dozen donuts and see if you can eat them all in one night. But then, you would be fat. And you can't be fat and sad. Pick a struggle.

Listen, all I'm saying is, I been there, done that. It's not that I don't let life get the best of me sometimes, I do. I am just learning now, how and where to direct negative energy when it comes. I've learned how to be honest with myself and the way I was feeling. Then, I was able to understand the best way for me to cope with certain situations. I'm telling you, once you throw a chair at the wall, it's all good. Just kidding. Let that wall be great. It ain't done nothing to you.

Ok let me get personal real quick. Last week was rough. Hell, this week has been a challenge too. I spent all my money on bills, I'm tired of being in St. Louis, I still can't fit my jeans, I have no idea why in the world I am keeping this blog, my acting career seems so far away and I'm trying to eat right but I REALLY want a piece of cake because life is hard and cake is my comfort food. I'm like, "I'm tired, I'm sad, I'm angry and I don't want to be bothered", so I went and isolated myself for a few hours until I was better.

I also had to take a moment and remember that it could always be worse. Even though I'm not at my highest, I am definitely not at my lowest. And I've been low enough to understand that. Real talk.

Look, sometimes life can be EXTREMELY sh!++y and make you upset and that's okay. If you have to lay in the bed and do that ugly cry, it's cool. Just don't stay there. You know you got to go to work, cause you used up all your vacation days already.

Try meditating. Get yourself a soft little blanket or yoga mat if you're feeling fancy, close your eyes, and talk yourself through it.

Or just drink some wine and get more sleep. It's up to you.

-BRIT


Comments

  1. I really needed something like this to read today...thanks Brit Brat! :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Lol, pick a struggle had me laughing. It's nice to read something with some positivity in it.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Good Girl

"Wait, am I going to get in trouble if I do that?" I`ve always been that "by the book" type of person. If I didn`t get permission to do it, it`s not happening. Yep, you guessed it, my friends hated me in high school.  I was the one with the curfew at midnight. No, I couldn`t sneak inside of the house because my mother and father were always sitting on the couch in the front room waiting for me to get in. And if I wasn`t home by midnight, I had a five minute grace period before they were blowing up my little flip phone. "Where are you? Do you know what time it is?" "Yes mom, I`m down the street." We were really just getting off of the highway but it was no red lights and my friend had a heavy foot.  *Shout Out to Laster and Sophia Douglas.* I was always the "good girl" and that was NOT a compliment. Being the good girl meant that you were stuck up, weird, boring, funny acting, etc. I`m actually all of those things when I`m hun...

BLACK AND CAREFREE

"While ya'll being distracted by this, look what's happening over here..." Ya'll know exactly who those types of people are on your friends list, don't you? You can't share a few funny memes, indulge in a hot topic discussion or post pictures of your lit brunch without somebody saying "Some of ya'll black folks be worried about the wrong thing!" And yes, some black folks ARE worried about the wrong thing BUT some black folks can worry about more than one thing at once. I mean damn, don't ya'll want a break sometimes? Photo: My Mama. Today's topic is on being BLACK AND CAREFREE . I wanted to make some heart warming post about black folks being able to be happy even in the face of adversity. Being able have joy and be aware at the same time. I had all intentions of posting photos of myself and my friends full of smiles. Making jokes about being black, educated and well spoken but being able to turn that off to be b...

DRANKS AND PAINTS AND VIBES

"I wanna go out, but I don't want to be around a whole lot of people, but I wanna mingle and see new faces and I wanna hear good music but I don't wanna dance." If you're anything like me, an extroverted introvert, you appreciate a good night out minus all of the extra stuff like heels and crowds you can't move in. I wanted to bring in this past birthday as cool and chill as possible. You know, flats, cupcakes, a drink and a nap. Well, I started my weekend just the way I wanted to with the Specialty Cocktails + Urban Art Workshop! Yes, we was in there drinking and spray painting. What more can I ask for? Now, my first run in with spray paint was not a good one. Let me give ya'll a very quick story: Aight so boom... the year was 2009. I was out with some friends from school roaming the streets of Chicago at night. Keep in mind, I went to an art school so all of my friends were some sort of artists. The guys we were hanging with were sic...